Credit Card Man In The Middle

For the discussion of non-419 related miscellaneous scams.
first48ambush
Hello, I'm Looking Around

Credit Card Man In The Middle

Post by first48ambush » Wed Aug 05, 2020 10:41 pm

Here's the Reader's Digest version of what I've been doing for a few years:

Email from unknown 'prospect' looking to hire me for my service... and do I accept credit cards??

After determining this was a disingenuous request, I begin the 'reverse' strategy.

I get the details of the required work and provide a quote. The prospect wants to find what credit card processor I use. After he determines I use a merchant service he can skate a stolen credit card with, he proceeds. Note, all of the communication is vial email.

Next, he wants me to do a small favor. The graphics designer, or event planner, or some other service provider who would logically be engaged on this project is a small business and does not accept credit cards. Would I be so kind as to run the card for $1500-$5000 more than the quote and give the overage to the 3rd party? I totally agree, and once the prospect is comfortable and has acquired the stolen credit card information for this scam, he will send me said card information. Sometimes at this point, the prospect will ask to communicate via sms txt. I have burner phones and gvoice, so I can oblige without fear.

Upon getting the stolen credit card info, I will IMMEDIATELY contact the issuing bank. This info is obtained by a website where you enter the first 6 digits of the credit card, and the site provides the bank card contact information. I have done this so many times that I have actually acquired the direct phone numbers to several bank card fraud departments.